IWSG: I Didn’t Give Up


***Please note, I moved my blog to NatashaHanova.com***

(same blog, new address)

IWSG

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! (Our Twitter hashtag is #IWSG)

Alex J. Cavanaugh’s awesome co-hosts for the June 5 posting of the IWSG will be Sheena-kay Graham, Suzanne Furness, and Laura Eno!

_____________________

I almost gave up but I didn’t. Writing a book is hard. Sometimes characters won’t talk, sometimes it’s difficult to visualize the setting, sometimes the plot is like a dysfunctional steel block rather than pliable clay. When facing obstacles like this, it’s easy to give into frustration. But sometimes a story is worth fighting for. So, a writer fights and wins, but the battle isn’t over.

Next round: finding an agent, editor, or publisher. Rejections hurt (See Taking the Sting Out of Rejection here). The worse thing a writer can do is give in or give up. If writing is your passion fight for it. Read craft articles, learn how to write a winning query, network with other writers because you never know who knows somebody who knows somebody.

When I started submitting queries for my book EDGE OF TRUTH, I faced rejection and often felt discouraged. Luckily, I have a fantastic critique group (Novel Clique) who constantly supports and encourages me. I managed to get a few nibbles after re-writing my query/synopsis. Shortly after, I finally found a home for it.

I almost gave up, but I didn’t and now I have a book coming out June 6 (That’s tomorrow, people!)

So when you feel discouraged in your writing adventures, remember this:

  • Your story won’t come out perfect the first time. This is what the revisions process is for. Focus on getting the words on the page.
  • Your characters won’t shun you forever. They tend to start talking when you’re in the shower, when your head first hits the pillow, when you’re driving, or (my favorite) when you start flirting with other characters.
  • You are not the first or last author to receive rejections. J.K. Rawlings was turned down by 12 publishers before finding a home for Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone.
  • Agents, editors, publishers are just people reading a ‘piece of paper’. Rejections aren’t personal and they don’t mean your story isn’t good. It only means it’s not right for the person you sent it to.
  • Stay positive. Nothing fells negativity faster than a positive attitude. Surround yourself with an arsenal of positive thoughts and don’t allow anything negative to take root.  
  • It’s not easy, but it’s worth the fight!

What advice do you have for other writers?

3 comments on “IWSG: I Didn’t Give Up

  1. If writing is your passion and you can’t imagine life without doing it then it is definitely worth the fight! You are proof that hard work and dedication can lead to success. Many congratulations on your book release tomorrow, enjoy every second. Nice to meet you through the group.

    Suzanne
    IWSG co-host

  2. Mark says:

    The best piece of advice I’ve heard is “If it’s something you truly want to do…stick with it and keep writing…the rest will fall into place. Hopefully”

    So, for me, I still have hope 🙂

Leave a Reply

