IWSG – Socially Awkward


IWSG

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! (Our Twitter hashtag is #IWSG)

Alex J. Cavanaugh’s awesome co-hosts for the May 1 posting of the IWSG will be Lynda Young, Mark Koopmans, and Rachna Chhabria!

_________________________________________

I mentioned last month that I’m attending the Romantic Times Convention this week and it starts today (well, technically tomorrow since I’m writing this post in advance). I’ve never been much of a social butterfly. I’m the bookworm sitting in the corner engrossed in reading and if I’m not, that’s where I want to be. However, when I go to conferences/conventions, I try to break free of my cocoon and mingle. Yet, in the back of my mind I worry about saying something silly or tripping over my feet while walking into a room or squeezing someone’s hand too hard during the ‘Hello, nice to meet you’ handshake.

How do you handle conference jitters?

This entry was posted in General.

18 comments on “IWSG – Socially Awkward

  1. I’ve heard so many bloggers talk about these conferences, but I’ve never ever attended one. I would really love to…
    I also use to be the socially inept butterfly, but I’ve learned to overcome it… took me a long, long time though… and sometimes traces of the awkwardness threaten to creep in…

    Writer In Transit

  2. I’d offer you some advice, but the likelihood of me ever attending (affording) a conference is extremely low. Best of luck! 🙂

    • They have many affordable conferences. Check for ones held in your area. I usually put aside a little from each paycheck ($10-$30) all year long. Even if it takes two years to save up enough, the networking/learning opportunities provided by conferences are worth it.

      Who knows, maybe you’ll be invited to speak about New Adult or STRENGTH at a conference one day. 🙂

  3. joylene says:

    I don’t know that there’s a secret. You brave the weather, walk in, and act like you’ve been attending conference since the beginning of time. LOL. Okay, don’t do that. Just smile sweetly. People generally don’t bite.

  4. This is the part of being a writer that scares me to death. I am the poster child for social awkwardness. No kidding. The thought of a conference or a book signing gives me palpitations. I have no advice, only a big hug and a ‘good luck’ for you.

  5. I really understand how you feel. What I tend to do at conventions and other events is look for fun opportunities at the edge of my comfort zone. When I went to the Ad Astra convention last month, I actually had a blast. I went to the volunteer office and was surprised to find myself tricked out with a radio and a yellow t-shirt as part of the security/information response corps. That was a good opportunity to meet some people. I was also stalking Jim Butcher from panel to panel, so I had opportunities to talk to fellow fans in the lines, and I dressed up in Cosplay one day and got talked into entering the Costume Masquerade show that evening, which was a great chance to chat with fellow cosplayers and hang out. :]

  6. Aloha Natasha,

    I love conferences because it is the *only* place I don’t get puzzled looks and requests for me to find a “real” job 🙂

    GOOD LUCK at yours 🙂

  7. Hi, visiting from the IWSG. I have heard so many bloggers talking of attending conventions. Can you believe it, I have never attended one, we don’t have them in India. Have a great time at the convention.

    Rachna Chhabria
    Co-host IWSG
    Rachna’s Scriptorium

    • Hello Rachna. Thanks for stopping by. I was surprised by how many people from outside the country attended this conference. Some of them even planned their vacations around it.

  8. I admit I’ve never been to one!
    Just think, everyone else going to the conference will have the same worries, so they will be more focused on themselves anyway. Just relax, smile, and be yourself!

  9. Cynthia says:

    I myself like a firm handshake because it conveys confidence, so I don’t think you need to worry about shaking someone’s hand too hard. I hope you had fun at the conference!

Leave a Reply

