IWSG: The Sound of Writing


IWSG

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! (Our Twitter hashtag is #IWSG)

Alex J. Cavanaugh’s awesome co-hosts for the April 3 posting of the IWSG are Annalisa Crawford, Elsie, and Julie Luek!

_________________________________________

Now, on to my second IWSG post…

This May, I’m attending the RT Booklovers Convention and I’ve entered one of the contests called American ‘Idol’ – The Writer Edition Competition which is all about voice. This is one thing writers hear from the onset, you have to find your voice. I’d like to think I found mine. I LOVE the story I entered into the competition, but I worry that it isn’t ‘loud’ enough.

I’m not really an ‘in your face’ kind of writer, and I worry that might be what it takes in this industry. What if my work isn’t humorous, witty, shocking, dramatic, sexy enough? Do I have to be loud to be noticed?

Do you ever worry about your writer’s voice?

This entry was posted in General.

18 comments on “IWSG: The Sound of Writing

  1. I used to worry about that. I thought, once we apply all the rules – how can we NOT sound the same? But we are still individuals, and there is still room for differences in tightened prose. If nothing else, the story itself makes the difference. The characters, too. An American historical romance is not going to sound the same as a contemporary paranormal, even if the same person writes both.

    Good luck with the contest! 🙂

    • “An American historical romance is not going to sound the same as a contemporary paranormal…”, when you put it in way, it makes sense. Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment.

  2. Quiet voices are still voices.

    As long as your voice is unique to you/your character, you should be fine.

    Best of luck!

  3. Kirsten says:

    If there’s one thing about voice I know for sure, it’s that one can’t find it by imitating someone else’s. I may enjoy someone else’s words, but trying to my make my own words fit into that mold would be an exercise in futility!
    I like to think I’ve found my voice by writing a lot … pouring out words in large quantities seems to strip away pretension and get to the core of what matters. That’s where I think one’s voice might be, whether it’s quiet and confident, or loud and compelling.
    Great topic and good luck with the competition!

    • An exercise in futility, indeed. The books I read and enjoy sound very different from the books I write. And you couldn’t be more right about needing to write a ton to get to the core of a story.

      Thanks for commenting, Kirsten.

  4. Mark says:

    I know how you feel! Sometimes, I think my voice is too ‘bland’ and that all the characters sound the same. To me, the way to combat that is to just keep writing and keep working. Eventually, your voice will get louder if that’s what you’re looking for.

    As Misha said, though, quiet voices are still voices and people still enjoy those, as well.

  5. Nutschell says:

    Voice is primarily what attracts agents and publishers, so I always worry about voice. It’s tricky to get that perfect voice, especially when you’re writing in third person but i guess it’s just a matter of practice ::)
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

    • I’ve actually had to switch POV to first person to get a character to talk, then had to switch it all back to 3POV. But, yeah, that whole ‘voice is what attracts agents and publishers’ is the seed of my worry tree, I think.

  6. Elsie says:

    I admire your courage to enter the competition! Hats off to you, Natasha. It sounds like so much fun. I think I’m to early in my writing endeavors to have found my voice yet. I’m fairly certain she’s a bit outspoken and quite sarcastic though. At least that’s what keeps showing up everywhere. Good luck!

    Elsie
    IWSG co-host (thanks for the shout out!)

  7. dawnall says:

    Is the voice strong enough, is it edgy enough, is it appropriate for YA, argh!!!! Yup, questioning it all the time.

  8. Booklover says:

    When I worry about my voice, I think of the characters and let them speak to me. They tend to give me the right words.

    Competition, great! Good luck!

  9. cluculzwriter says:

    A lot of writers worry about this. I think the fear diminishes with time. Writing cures a lot of ails, and one of those is worry over whether you have an unique voice despite it being quiet, soft, easy to read. I actually prefer those types of voices. Good luck , Natasha.

  10. […] IWSG: The Sound of Writing (writesbymoonlight.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

