Top 10 Movies Countdown Blogfest


TOPTENMOVIE

Today’s the day for Alex J. Cavanaugh’s Top 10 Movies Countdown Blogfest! Click the image above for a list of other participants.

I love watching movies. I even have special snacks I like to eat depending on the movie. Hot Tamales/Jelly Beans for scary shows, Peanut Butter M&Ms for romantic comedies, Twizzlers for sci-fi, and popcorn for anything else. Now, without further ado…

Here’s my Top 10 Movie Countdown

10. Death To Smoochie – Lookie!, Lookie! Lookie! Here comes a cookie! I’m an Edward Norton fan and I thought he was especially fun in this movie. Robin Williams brought his own flavor of humor, as well. Safari!!

9. The Fifth Element – I’m a fan of Bruce Willis movies and Milla Jovovich movies (especially Resident Evil), too. So this one easily makes my list.

8. Men In Black II – I could watch that movie, as well as MIB, anytime.

7. Shaun of the Dead – Humor + romance + zombie apocalypse = all kinds of fun. I’m fan of the original show Dawn of the Dead, too.

6. The Book of Eli – LOVED the twist at the end.

5. Blade – Hot. Vampire. And yes, I know he’s half-vampire, half-mortal, but that sort of messed up the symmetry.

4. The Green Mile Stephen King is a brilliant man. He knows how to craft well-rounded, flawed, yet motivated characters.

3. A Christmas Story – For one reason or another, I think about this movie almost every day. I’m drawn to how relatable and real these characters are. There’s a certain brilliance in the simpleness of this movie. The book was great, too.

2. AVP: Alien vs Predator –  I’m very impressed with the way the creatures from the two films were brought together. I felt they were true to the nature of the creatures.

1. Alien Quadrilogy (Alien, Aliens, Alien 3, Alien Resurrection). I sat staring at the box set for 15 minutes debating with myself (sad, I know) which movie was best. They all have different aspects that I love. Strange as it sounds, I like to wrap Christmas presents while watching these movies. Plus, whenever my older brother visits, we have an Alien movie marathon, which makes these films all the more special.

It was so hard to pick just 10, so I stuck with movies I’ve watched repeatedly over the years. That said, here are some honorable mentions: LOTR, Matrix, Payback, Die Hard, Fight Club, Date Night, Resident Evil, Day Watch, Constantine, The Cuckoo, Pursuit of Happiness, Little Miss Sunshine, Everything’s Illuminated, Sixth Sense, Secret Life of Bees, What Dreams May Come, Patch Adams, Stranger Than Fiction, most movies based on Stephen King books (especially The Shinning) and so so many more.

If you participated in this blogfest, please let me know in the comments below so I can be sure to stop by your blog.

How about you? What are your favorite movies? Do you have a special snack you like to enjoy when you’re watching?

p.s. Be sure to stop by on Thursday. I’ll be hosting Carrie Butler!

46 comments on “Top 10 Movies Countdown Blogfest

  1. Interesting list. Love A Christmas Story, too. 🙂

  2. Smoochies… what a great frickin’ film that seemed to be overlooked… i am happy you have it to your list.

  3. Tasha says:

    I have never heard of Death to Smoochie, now I will have to go look it up :). I’m totally with you on 9, 8, 7, 5, 4 and 1 though – all brilliant. Superb choices.

  4. karen walker says:

    The Green Mile and Book of Eli are the only two I’ve seen on this list. Interesting.
    Karen

  5. dawnall says:

    Fifth Element! Loved that. The Green Mile…Tom Hanks and Stephen King…a winning combo!

  6. Love of sci fi action in this list. Loving it! 🙂

  7. minalobo says:

    Hi, hopping by from the Hop. Shaun of the Dead made it to my list too! 🙂

    • I was kicking myself for leaving out I Love You to Death! You and I have the same taste in movies. 🙂 Other than #8 and #5, I’ve seen everything on your list. I really like your #10.

  8. Nutschell says:

    Forgot about the Fifth Element, But i definitely enjoyed that movie.
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

  9. Mark says:

    I didn’t think I’d see anyone with Alien vs Predator on their top ten. I was surprise how much I liked that film…it was pretty well done and, actually, made some sense.

    Great list, as well 🙂

  10. unikorna says:

    Alien wow what a breathtaking tour de force ;).

  11. Robyn Engel says:

    That’s a great variety of films. I especially appreciate what you wrote about The Christmas Story and Green Mile. Stephen King is a genius.

    Thanks for dropping by through the blogfest, Natasha.
    Have a great week.

  12. Fantastic list! We have a lot of the same ones. Shaun of the Dead was awesome!

  13. Aliens tops my list. And A Christmas Story is my favorite holiday film.
    Thanks for participating in my blogfest!

  14. Donna Hole says:

    Fun list 🙂 Ten really is too few to cover it all.

    …….dhole

  15. Quite a mixed bag you have here… and completely different to mine. 🙂
    I remember The Green Mile…

  16. LD Masterson says:

    We didn’t have any overlap on our lists but I love that you included A Christmas Story. It was my mom’s favorite film.

  17. Tia Bach says:

    Loved The Green Mile (my list had another great Stephen King movie: Shawshank Redemption). Some great choices above, some of which I need to see.

  18. Elise Fallson says:

    The Fifth Element! I can’t believe I forgot to add that film, but then again, I’ve been saying that a lot since reading all these movie posts, lol. Great list, Natasha. (:

  19. Thanks, Elise. I’ve found a lot of movies I can’t believe I forgot, too.

  20. Great list! Loved Men in Black II!

  21. Natasha-

    Well I simply cannot condone your inclusion of “A Christmas Story” because it glorified BB Guns, and for Pete’s sake, they can put someone’s eye out!

    Both AVP films are a bit of a guilty pleasure for me. Yes, they follow the exact same formula as the Alien films, and yes, they were a bit predictable, but you’re right-they brought the two franchises together very creatively, and they were fun to watch!

    Larry

  22. the green mile is a classic!! you have some great picks here! new follower from the hop, hi!

  23. Trisha says:

    Loved The Fifth Element, Shaun of the Dead, The Green Mile and the Alien movies. Which I have to re-watch since I bought the whole box set which also included the Predator movies and other scary movies.

    Liked (but can’t remember very well at all) Blade. 😀

  24. Dropping in from the blog hop to let you know you have a great top 10 list! :3

Leave a Reply

