IWSG – Never Enough Time


IWSG

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! (Our Twitter hashtag is #IWSG)

Alex J. Cavanaugh’s awesome co-hosts for the March 6 posting of the IWSG are Misha Gericke and Joylene Nowell Butler!

_________________________________________

Now, on to my second IWSG post…

I’d like to consider myself an organized person. In fact, back when I was an executive assistant, I was often complimented on my organizational skills. I juggled twenty things at once, had documents and other things ready for the exec before she knew she needed them, my work desk was always tidy, etc.

If I can do that for an entire office, why can’t I do it for myself?

For a long time, I pondered that question. Then, I decided to do something about it. I created a 6-week editorial calendar for my blog. I started a “Writer Calendar” where I schedule time to write, keep track of people I plan to host on my blog, note participation in social media events, and even list my critique group meetings. With the help of Google Reader, I’m making a Blog Visiting schedule to help me streamline my time in the blogosphere. Since I’m really good at procrastinating, I’ve started using Pinterest (find me here) as reward to achieving writing goals. These things help me feel focused.

Find other Insecure Writer’s Support Group members here.

How about you? Do you have any writer-centric organizational tips?

19 comments on “IWSG – Never Enough Time

  1. I have a binder for my blog with full-page, blank calendars for every month, and space for general notes at the bottom. That’s how I keep up with my posts and guests.

    I’m working on getting my Google reader blogs into folders (recently learned that was possible). I was following regulars by email, but I’m gonna give that a try instead.

    My work and family life pretty much dictate my schedule. As well as set activities like IWSG and NALitChat.

    The one thing that has really helped me (besides the binder) is writing and scheduling blog posts ahead of time. I get nervous if I drop below about two to three weeks into the future.

    Thanks again for your kind comment on my blog. 🙂

    • I like the idea of an actual binder. My calendar in on my computer, but there’s something about a print copy that seems to make if official. I need to take the time to write my future post, like you. That sounds very freeing!

  2. carrieabutler says:

    Every year at back-to-school time, I buy a student planner from the dollar store. Kids always get bigger squares for assignments, so I can fit blog posts, deadlines, etc. It’s good stuff! 🙂

  3. I am not there yet with my writing….just blogging along at this point, but I do always no matter what it is schedule my time!! Thank you for sharing your post! I also enjoyed your pinterest page! sandysanderellasmusings

  4. cluculzwriter says:

    I used to be so organized, especially when the boys were at home. Now, gads, it’s scary. My house is organized, but my writing. … The thing is when my writing is, my house isn’t. Why can’t I do both? I don’t know.

    I do love a clean house though.

    Happy IWSG, Natasha!

  5. chancelet says:

    Creating a schedule and sticking to it has been the bane of my writing existence. But unlike you, I was never good at organization, but like you, in some areas I am definitely a procrastinator. I wish us both luck on this endeavor to set schedules where everything in our writing lives are taken care of in a neat and efficient manner.

  6. I recently had to buy a calendar book to help keep all my writerly stuff in order. Things were getting out of hand. Of course, now I need one for my house…

  7. Tia Bach says:

    That is SO what I need to do. I’m normally so organized, too, but I’ve lost my way lately. Thanks for the kick in the butt to get organized (plus, I’ll be checking out your links).

    My IWSG Post

  8. Jan Morrison says:

    Oddly, my blog is my organizing tool. If I write what I plan on doing in a blog post I can go back and check it against reality! You sound wonderfully organized – definitely a help with the writing discipline.

  9. My blog schedule is on my cell phone – we do carry our phones everywhere so it makes perfect sense.
    But I did buy a wall planner, but need to get my butt into action and transfer the stuff from my phone onto the planner!

  10. I’m a bit of a pantser when it comes to organization as well as first drafts. 🙂 I’m sure that scheduling my creative time too much would make my muses rebel.

    Most months I have certain goals or projects in mind, and I use the calendar of time-slices to reward myself afterwards instead of organizing beforehand – though there’s some overlap, such as, for instance, when I decide that drawing is a calendar timeslice project for February, or that I get one E for every hour of editing completed in March instead of a maximum of one per day. 🙂

  11. Ravena Guron says:

    That sounds like a really good way to overcome procrastination! I might just have to try that!

  12. […] IWSG – Never Enough Time (writesbymoonlight.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

