Let’s Get Organized Today!


LGO BadgeMaintaining a social media presence is important, but doesn’t have to be stressful. For writers, it can’t trump time to write, otherwise it negates the purpose of building a platform. I’ll be the first to admit it’s hard to keep up with everything. Tomorrow, Sarah Nego Writes is hosting my guest post on managing social media. Almost like I planned it, huh?

I sort of did. At the end of last year, my critique group brainstormed topics for our group blog for the entire year. We have themes that transition seamlessly one into another. I wanted this for Writes By Moonlight, as well.

In an effort to find a balance between writing and the real world, we started the Let’s Get Organized blog hop.

The rules are simple:

  1. Create a 4-6 week editorial calendar (here’s a cool template). If you post more than once a week, feel free to cut this time-frame in half. Unless, you’re up for the challenge.
  2. Publish the schedule to your blog. As with exercising, people tend to stick to goals when they’re held accountable.
  3. Tag three bloggers to join in the fun, then contact them to let them know about it. (This step is optional)

+++++

Without further ado, here’s what you can expect on my blog over the next few weeks:

  • Friday, February 22Guest Post on Sara Nego Writes (link goes live on 2/22/13)
  • Thursday, February 28 – eARC Review: Strength by Carrie Butler
  • Wednesday, March 7 – Insecure Writer’s Support Group post
  • Wednesday, March 14 – Guest Post on Novel Clique blog about Movies Dealing with Suspension of Disbelief
  • Monday, March 18 – Ninja Captain Alex’s Top 10 Movie Countdown Blogfest (scroll to the bottom of this post to join the fun)
  • Thursday, March 21 – Hosting Carrie Bulter

Many of the bloggers I follow are super organized, so it’s difficult to figure out who to tag. So, anyone who interested in creating an editorial calendar for your blog, consider yourself tagged.

If you decide to participate, please leave a comment below. I’d love to know what you’re up to.

Do you struggle with finding a balance between writing and the real world? How do you manage your social media and have time to write?

 

11 comments on “Let’s Get Organized Today!

  1. Looks like you’ve got a great line up, can’t wait to read them.

  2. Outside of the IWSG, I don’t have a content schedule, but I do post three days a week on schedule. Although I do have a Wednesday Movie Quote and participate in VikLit’s Celebrate the Small Things on Fridays.
    Glad the IWSG and my blogfest are in your schedule.
    And will definitely be back for Carrie’s interview – she rocks!

  3. I don’t know how you do it, Alex. You must have a clone. Or two. 😉

  4. Oh my goodness. I tried to keep a calendar/schedule on my blog once. I think it lasted three months. I kept having to make so many last minute changes (blogfests, reveals, etc.), I just gave up on the notion. LOL

    P.S. I might be biased, but I’m lovin’ the lineup! 😉

  5. I do have time finding a balance, but not with staying organized. I write and schedule blog posts up to two months in advance to free up long stretches for drafting. Like Carrie, the things that get me are last-minute announcements and changes.

  6. E.Arroyo says:

    There’s just no time to do it all. I have to prioritize my sanity. =)

  7. […] a long time, I pondered that question. Then, I decided to do something about it. I created a 6-week editorial calendar for my blog. I started a “Writer Calendar” where I schedule time to write, keep track […]

Leave a Reply

