IWSG – People Reading A Book


IWSG

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds! (Our Twitter hashtag is #IWSG)

Alex J. Cavanaugh’s two awesome co-hosts this month are Stephen Tremp and Julie Flanders!  Thanks for your support!

_________________________________________

This is my first time participating in Alex’s Insecure Writer’s Support Group, so I hope I do it right because the timing is perfect. This weekend, my wonderful publisher, Sapphire Star Publishing sent out Advanced Reader Copies (ARCs) of my debut novel to major reviewers. Ahhh! I find this both exciting and nerve wrecking. What if the reviewers don’t like my book? What if they don’t like my characters? What if they don’t like the world I created? What if….

Breathe. I tell my self. It will be okay, I tell myself. Some of them will like it. Some of them won’t. They are only people reading a book. Just like me.

33 comments on “IWSG – People Reading A Book

  1. Yeah! Best of luck, You may get a few negative reviews, but they won’t be the end of the world, and I bet some of your readers will like it too!

    I think you may have had a dyslexic moment with the post title though – it’s IWSG remember, not ISWG.

  2. I’d imagine it’s normal to be nervous at the point you’re at, you’ve put in all the work, and you’ve nothing left to do but wait and find out if it will be appreciated…

    Best of luck!

  3. Linda says:

    “They are only people reading a book. Just like me.”
    So true, Natasha. 🙂

  4. Girl, you’ve done your due diligence. Relax. . . bask in your acomplishment. 🙂

  5. And while you’re doing that, bask in your ‘accomplishment,’ too. LOL

  6. They are only people reading a book. Keep reminding yourself of that.

    Nevertheless, I’m sure the wait is nerve-wracking… 🙂

  7. E.Arroyo says:

    So true. And we have to keep reminding ourselves of this fact. They’re just readers like us! Congrats!

  8. Oh so nerve racking- but I’m sure they will love your book. Best of luck and congrats! 🙂

  9. carrieabutler says:

    I have to tell myself that all the time! Ah, the life of a writer… 🙂

  10. Congratulations on having ARCs into the world. I can’t wait for that moment-and dread it at the same time-because I know some will like my work and some people won’t. I’ve read on a couple blogs the advise to not read reviews, but have a friend do it and share the good ones with you (or as much as you want to hear). Best of luck to you!

  11. That is nerve-wracking, Natasha, but just remember, you wrote a great story and a publisher liked it enough to get behind it. I’m sure most readers will love it! (There are always the disgruntled few who can’t be pleased, but what I do is go on GoodReads and find books I LOVE and then look for the 1 star reviews – they are always there – and that just goes to show that even great books get bad reviews from some people so if it happens to you don’t let it get you down… at least not for too long :)) Good luck – here’s to hundreds – nay, thousands! – of 5 star reviews and glowing comments! 🙂

  12. Arlee Bird says:

    I can see where this would be insecurity time. Hope all goes well!

  13. Best wishes for a smashing success! I’ll be sending out ARCs in a month or two. Its a nerve wracking time but one that is necessary. Sending big thoughts of a smashing success your way!

  14. Cynthia says:

    New follower here…I think it’s awesome that you’ve gotten as far as you have. Most people can only dream of getting a publisher, and here you are! Good luck with your upcoming release.

  15. You’ll do great, Natasha. If you like what you’ve read, then other people will like what you’ve read. Well met, and I wish you the best of luck with your debut!

    Jamie @ Mithril Wisdom

  16. Tia Bach says:

    Breathing is an excellent tool that way! 😉 Wishing you the best with your adventure. The review part will get easier. I’ve been a book club gal for a while, and it’s taught me a lot… the best of which: there has yet to be a book we all like or one we all hate.

Leave a Reply

