Personal Tropes


Along the lines of last weeks post on Paranormal Tropes, (see Leatrice McKinney’s post on sci-fi/fantasy tropes here and Dawn Allen’s upcoming post on horror/mystery here), I thought I’d do a post on personal tropes. These are elements that are repeated throughout your fiction (in multiple stories).

I tend to set my stories near mountains. I’m drawn to them, wish I lived closer to a range. I also love to write about forests, which goes hand in hand with the mountain thing. One of my critique partners pointed out that I have multiples (twins, triplets, or more) in four of my stories. I’ve always been fascinated with them. When we were little, my sisters and I even planned on having twins. I held up my end of the bargain; she didn’t, but I love her anyway.

MN

How about you? Are there any particular elements that pop up in a number of your stories? Readers, do you tend to go for books with certain tropes?

p.s. The eARC/print ARCs of EDGE OF TRUTH will be ready tomorrow (2/1/13) AH! If you’re interested in a review swap, please email me at WritesByMoonlight at gmail dot com. Thanks!

 

This entry was posted in General.

8 comments on “Personal Tropes

  1. lbdiamond says:

    Interesting! I tend to have a lot of psychiatric aspects in my stories, LOL!

    Yay for your ARCs!!!!!! Are you totally excited?!

  2. dawnall says:

    AND TREES. Lots and lots of trees. Even when they’re faux…see Edge of Truth to know more.

  3. Interesting post. I lean toward certain types (personalities) of characters and historical times for settings, but I can’t think of any item or specific land form, etc., that shows in multiple works. Maybe my crit partners would be a better judge. LOL

  4. carrieabutler says:

    My characters have to banter. They have to. LOL

Leave a Reply

