Unusual Thanks


Two posts this week – Today: Unexpected Thanks & Tomorrow: My Book Cover Reveal!!!

It’s Thanksgiving here in the U.S.  We all have obvious things we are thankful for: God, family, friends, good health, etc. I wanted to have a little fun with this post and decided to ask, “What unusual things are you thankful for?”

Here’s my list:

  • Kindness in strangers. Especially when its unanticipated. You know, you’re standing in line at the grocery store with your box of double fudge brownies and the person in front of you is pushing two shopping carts and has a binder full of coupons. Not that I don’t condone saving, cause every penny counts. I know, understand, and practice that, but sometimes the need for chocolate superceedes  my patience. There’s a certain amount of joy and appreciation when that person turns to you and says, “You can go ahead of me, if you want.”
  • Quiet places. I have twins + one. Anyone who spends a lot time around young kids will understand this one.
  • Quirky humor. I’m a sucker for corny jokes. My son once asked, “What does a monkey order at a restaurant?” “I don’t know, what?” “Oooh ahh ahh with a side of oooh ahh ahh. Because monkeys can’t talk.” I’m still laughing about that one. Feel free to share this one I made up. “Why did the chicken cross the road? Because the cow said, ‘moooove’.” Silly, I know, but it made my children laugh, and few things are better than the laughter of children.
  • Aglets. Okay, I’ll be the first to admit, I might watch too much Phineas and Ferb, but have you ever tried tying a shoe without the thing on the tip of the shoelace. You have to twist it, pinch the tips with your fingernails, and hope all the strands will make it through the first time.
  • Select A Size paper towels. Because they help me save money by using less. See “Kindness of Strangers”.
  • The sound frogs make. Frog song? I don’t know how to describe it, but it soothes me.
  • And last, before the list gets out of control, climbing trees. I’m by no means a professional tree climber (It’s a real job. Click here, if curious), but I do enjoy relaxing in a tree.

Now, it’s your turn. What unusual things are you thankful for?

6 comments on “Unusual Thanks

  1. beeseeker says:

    Thanks for putting the link in to the “tree climb” site, some great photos in there.

    Today I am thankful for the lively wind that’s moving the heavy rainclouds past my roof at a rate of knots … 😀

  2. I read the poem on your blog. Love it!

  3. Dana Mason says:

    I am thankful for so many things this year…but as I sit at my computer and look around, I have to say, today I’m thankful for my messy house. My messy house means I had the pleasure of spending yesterday with my kids, hanging out, going to the movies and have a nice dinner. Right now, having a messy house is the result of time spent together as a family instead of cleaning. 🙂

  4. I’m with you on quiet places and paper towels. I’d like to add the ‘remember my password’ feature (and any other helpful cookie that keeps me from typing repetitive information). I’m also thankful for my Kindle and for the alarms on my computer that keep me from forgetting to wake the kids and watch for their buses. LOL 😀

Leave a Reply

