Connecting With Readers And Cover Reveal Team Sign Up


I recently read a post on Rachelle Gardner’s blog titled Are Writers Too Insulated From Their Readers. It made me re-think how I blog, because I’m guilty on this one. Most of my posts focus on the craft of writing. This is my passion, but I certainly don’t intend to alienate readers. 

To quote Mike Duran, “Writers must wrestle with the technical details of a story while trying to enjoy it. Readers only want to enjoy it.”

I’m not sure how to go about creating a blog that appeals to readers and writers alike. Do you have one blog dedicated to the craft and another just for fans? Do you dedicate a specific number of posts to non-writing topics? Do book reviews count as a non-writing topic?

What are your thoughts? Do you know of a blog(s) that balance the two?

PLUS….

I’m gearing up for a cover reveal (squee!) for EDGE OF TRUTH on November 23 and I’d love your help. You don’t have to have a blog to participate. Facebook, Pinterest (find me here), Tmblr, Twitter, etc. offer options for posting material.

If you’re interested, please fill out this form and I’ll contact you with the information you’ll need. You can also leave a comment below, tweet me, or Facebook me. Thanks!

28 comments on “Connecting With Readers And Cover Reveal Team Sign Up

  1. It’s hard to find a good balance. I try to divide my posts between writing stuff and reading stuff and make it interactive if at all possible.

  2. E.Arroyo says:

    Yay for the cover reveal! I signed up. Congrats! Re: readers. I write YA and it’s hard all around to engage them. Facebook seems the way to go. =)

  3. Dana Mason says:

    I’m in for the cover reveal! Can’t wait to see it.
    I agree that some writers focus too much on the technical side of writing. I follow MANY blogs, but I find that my favorite blogs tend to be reader focused.

  4. I have two blogs–one writing centric and the other personal–but one gets way more attention than the other. *shrug*

    And I will definitely help with your reveal! 🙂

  5. dawnall says:

    It’s a good question. Maybe a reader’s page and a writer’s page? It’s sure food for thought. You know I have your back on that cover reveal!

  6. I don’t have a good answer for that one. Right now, I’m focusing on one blog that’s a writer’s blog. I will eventually have a website. Perhaps I’ll put a reader’s blog on that one so my readers can access everything in one place.

    I’m so excited about your cover reveal!
    I signed up. 🙂

    • Thanks for signing up and the enthusiasm, Melissa.

      I like the idea of a website with links to a reader oriented blog. Gonna plant an idea seed on that one and see what sprouts. 🙂

  7. PS…I just saw my blog button over there >>>
    Thank you!!! 😀

    Now you need to make one so I can put yours on my blog. 🙂

  8. Nicole Mc says:

    Oh wow!! I never dreamed the reveal would be so soon!!!! I can’t WAIT to blog about it! 🙂 I’m guilty of blogging whatever silly thing comes to mind!! LOL

  9. Beth says:

    I think book reviews do count as non-writing topics, because lots of readers who don’t write but maintain a book blog regularly do review.

    I’ll help with your cover reveal.

  10. kellyhashway says:

    I’d love to help with your reveal. I filled out the form.

  11. Count me in, Natasha. I’ve been MIA since I’m doing Nano, but you can check outmy blog http://www.ednahwalters.blogspot.com
    If you’re interested in being tagged in the NEXT BIG THING, let me know too. I’m up in 2 days

  12. Congrats! And of course I’d love to help with a cover reveal (and other promos when your book is released)

    I try to have some balance in my blog. My goal is to keep the writing posts to once per week, then include a book review + something random but reading related. I totally agree that blogs about writing are only attracting a following of writers, not readers. And who is really going to be buying our books?

Leave a Reply

