Real Or Fake?


Where story settings are concerned writers have options: real, fake, or both. I’ve used them all. My short story ZOMBIE KIBOSH CREW is strategically based in St. Louis, MO. I used Google Maps to help me get a satellite view and when I zoomed in close enough, it gave a virtual point of view. It’s awesome. Give it a try. My WiP BLINKย is based on Golden, CO with a major fictional spin to it. The setting in my debut novel EDGE OF TRUTHย is set in 2248. I used a real calendar (cause I’m a geek like that), but created the setting through world building.

Of the three, I find faking it a.k.a. world building the most difficult, yet fun and rewarding.

How about you? Please take my poll and/or leave a comment to let me know what kind of settings you like to use and why.

Related Articles

12 comments on “Real Or Fake?

  1. Dana Mason says:

    I use real places, but I put a spin on it a little too. Street names may be fictional, names of places are also usually fictional. Fantasy world building sounds hard. I’m not sure if I’ll every venture in that direction.

    • I can see how using real places with a fictional spin would add to the kind of books you write, especially if someone was familiar with the city where the suspense was unfolding. Thanks for commenting.

  2. I guess we can be geeks together, because I use calendars, moon phase & sunrise/sunset charts, and even airport flight schedules to try to get as close to real as I can. *Shaking my fist at the gods of plausibility* You can’t catch me. LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Carrie-Anne says:

    I write historical, so I always set my books in real places. Sometimes I might make up a fictional neighborhood or just not name a town, but they’re all based around real places, like 1920s or 1960s Manhattan, post-WWII France, or Russia during the Civil War.

    • Stories set in those times/locations call for in depth research. It’s amazing how different things were then. For my current WiP (adult paranormal romance), I had to research a variety of things, including what kind of underwear people wore in the 1920s.

  4. I create fictional towns, but I orient them around major cities. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. lbdiamond says:

    I’m open to any and all settings, but if a real location is used, I want it to be accurate. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Kelley Lynn says:

    I have done all of the above. The hardest to do, I think, are the real places. People expect certain things from the places they know. Lots of research involved. When I create a space, I can do anything. ๐Ÿ™‚ Great post!

Leave a Reply

