Be Inspired Meme


I was tagged by blogger Melissa Maygrove for the Be Inspired meme. The instructions say to answer the following questions, and then tag five people.  I can do that…
1. What is the name of your book?
EDGE OF TRUTH
2. Where did the idea for your book come from?
As with many of my stories, this one started with a dream. The main character, sixteen year old Rena Moon, was hiding under the floorboards of her house while strange men beat up her father in an attempt to force him to reveal her location. This scene isn’t in the book, but it made me wonder why “they” wanted her.  I discovered she lived in an oppressive, futuristic society where turning over people with special abilities is profitable. At first, Rena only has a sensitivity to ground vibrations, but as she grows older her powers grow stronger and her emotions begin triggering earthquakes.
3. In what genre would you classify your book?
YA dark paranormal with sci-fi elements. There’s romance, too.
4. If you had to pick actors to play your characters in a movie rendition, who would you choose?
  I often find my characters on Corbisimages.com or Fotosearch.com. The images I use for Rena and Nevan (her love interest) are not stock photography, so I can’t post them. It’s hard to find actors who resemble them. If I had to pick, I’d say Chanel Iman, only with a splatter of freckles across the ridge of her nose and cheeks for Rena;  Jason Momoa, only seventeen, bi-racial, and with one hazel/one blue eye for Nevan; and Anneliese van der Pol for Rena’s BFF Blaze.
5. Give us a one-sentence synopsis of your book.
In the year 2248, Rena Moon, a free-spirited teen in a dictatorial society, struggles to control her emotion-based power to trigger earthquakes until her best friend is held ransom for the one thing that would free her from oppression.
6. Is your book already published / represented?
Shopping it around. I’ve had a few nibbles.
7. How long did it take you to write your book?
Writing it the first time didn’t take long. The editing and revisions that followed took a while.
8. What other books within your genre would you compare it to? Or, readers of which books would enjoy yours?
Like Melissa, I don’t want to compare my writing to a published author. I think readers who enjoy paranormal stories would like this book. Even though I love vampires, werewolves, books with fey, readers won’t find that kind of paranormal in EoT. Instead, my characters possess abilities like mind reading, supernatural speed, and I also have a clairvoyant.
9. Which authors inspired you to write this book?
I’m a huge fan of L.A. Banks. Her characters are strong and down to earth. I also crush on Kresley Cole. That woman really knows how to breathe life into characters and I often take notes on her fight scenes. She’s a master of creating tension between characters. Overall, I wouldn’t say any one particular author inspired me to write this book, but I’m an avid reader and I read like a writer, so I’m always learning through observation.
10. Tell us anything that might pique our interest in your book. 
See #5 and then ask yourself how well you might control your emotions when your loved ones are in mortal danger and you’re the one to blame.

Now to tag five others…

Laura Diamond @ Lucid Dreamer
Kelly Hashway @ Kelly Hashway (her link here)
Leatrice McKinney @ Info Dump a la El (her link here)
Dawn Allen @ Write On (her link here)
Nickie Anderson @ Here’s the story

I look forward to learning more about you. Please leave a note in the comments if you decide to participate. Thanks!

11 comments on “Be Inspired Meme

  1. I like the earthquake idea, very cool. This meme is really fun, I’m always curious about where people find their inspiration 🙂

  2. Wow. Loved reading about your book. Can’t wait til it’s published! 🙂

  3. Sounds great! Good luck with those nibbles, Natasha! 🙂

  4. Great character choices. Thanks for tagging me. 🙂 I just recently posted on this. Here’s the link: http://kellyhashway.blogspot.com/2012/06/be-inspired.html

  5. dawnall says:

    Thanks for tagging me, Tasha! Fun inspiration.

  6. Thanks for tagging me! I just updated my blog, so you can find my responses here:

    http://nickieanderson.blogspot.com/2012/07/be-inspired-meme.html

    I think it’s funny that your inspiration was a dream, because mine was as well! It was one of those incredibly vivid dreams, and I snapped awake that morning and just started jotting down ideas.

Leave a Reply

