Now I’m Curious


Last week, I wrote about a relatively new category called New Adult. This term (coined by St. Martin’s Press in 2011) was new to some of you, which left me wondering how much awareness there is about this category. NA books fall between YA and adult books. They tend to focus on people in their twenties who are struggling to figure out what it means to be an adult.

Popular books include: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, Easy by Tammara Webber, Wasteland by Lynn Rush, and Something Like Normal by Trish Doller. According to the NA Alley blog, NA movies include: Legally Blonde (2001)Good Will Hunting (1997), and The Devil Wears Prada (2006).

Goodreads also has a list of popular New Adult books here.

With this in mind, I invite you to take the following poll, whether or not you comment below.  Thanks!

How would you describe this category? Do you have any NA books you’d recommend to others? What draws you to NA books?

31 comments on “Now I’m Curious

  1. New Adult was the genre I heard about and went “OH! So that’s where this one story fits . . . ” (my fantasy novel, Blood of Trees, formerly Weeping Willow). I haven’t read much NA yet, but it’s definitely one I want to read more of. I’d highly recommend “The Forever Girl” by Rebecca Hamilton, though the main character is Wiccan, so if that’s something you don’t want to read, I understand.

    I like NA books because I feel like that’s the stage of life I’m still in (even if I just turned 27). I’m still trying to find my footing in a lot of areas, but I hate the drama of teenagers. This is just the next phase that feels completely natural to read about.

  2. Gina says:

    I actually have a novel I wrote that is New Adult! However, this is the first I have heard of this genre and always wondered if my book fit into YA or Adult. Yay! I have a genre now! 😉

  3. Great post, Natasha! I’ll tweet about it. 🙂 The more people that get on board with NA, the better!

    What would I recommend? Well, STRENGTH, my NA paranormal romance, comes out March 07, 2013… *Grins*

    No, really, I’d direct people here: NA Alley Recommended Reads List 🙂

  4. Great post! Every time I see a NA book or a post like this, I get such a thrill! All I read and write is New Adult, and it finally feels like the word is getting around that we need and want more in this category.

  5. Great post. And I can recommend ‘Strength’ as a great NA read. (I had a sneak peek. :P)

  6. Great poll here! Some of my fave NA titles are Wasteland by Lynn Rush, Flat Out Love by Jessica Park, The Slammed Series by Colleen Hoover, and anything written by SC Stephens. The woman is amazing. And of course my title The Crimson Hunt *grins* It doesn’t came out until the end of the year though 😉 Thanks for the NA Alley mention!!!

  7. I love this new category and think it’s needed. And of course I know a few up and comers, like yourself and C.D. Jarmola ;o)

  8. Carrie-Anne says:

    I suppose some of my books are technically New Adult, but since I write (20th century) historical, I’m not too sure NA would be a really accurate classification for them. Until a few decades ago, someone who was in his or her late teens and early twenties was considered an adult, period. I’m not so sure the average person of that age today could relate to a NA-designated story about young people navigating their first years of marriage, running a household, and having kids, things that were considered normal coming of age new adult milestones the way college, living alone, and dating are considered today.

    But I do agree, for those who write contemporary and other genres, it’s an important classification. Writers shouldn’t be pressured to age characters up or down just because the market for characters in certain age brackets aren’t as large as they used to be.

    • An interesting perspective on NA, Carrie-Anne. Do you classify your books as Adult, then?

      • Carrie-Anne says:

        I classify some of them adult, depending upon the ages of the characters at the start. The main characters in my Russian novels are in their late teens and gymnasium (i.e., high school) students at the start of the first book, but because 17- and 18-year-olds were essentially considered adults by 1917 standards, and because they’re expelled from gymnasium and go out on their own at the end of the first chapter, in very adult situations, it seems ridiculous to classify it as young adult or new adult based solely on the ages.

        I’m still leaning towards classifying some of my books with younger characters as young adult, but I guess it depends on what critiquers have to say about the voice and subject matter, if it sounds more adult than young or new adult.

  9. Ooh, yes! I’d recommend Lauren Hammond’s Insanity. That’s a great New Adult title.

  10. I love New Adult. And as a YA writer, I love how close New Adult is. WE can write a bit older.

  11. Nickie says:

    I’ve only read a couple of NA titles, but I do like the genre, and I think it’s an expanding market. I would highly recommend ‘Hold Me Closer, Necromancer” for those who like paranormal stories (I have a full review on my blog: http://nickieanderson.blogspot.com/2012/05/hold-me-closer-necromancer.html).

  12. Katja says:

    Interesting questions, and I love the poll widgets. I usually class New Adult as adult, purely because I feel that that phase goes on and on…that trying to find your place. Even when we’re comfortable with ourselves that question rears it’s head often enough, if you’re ready to keep evolving and adapting. For some it happens in the early twenties and for others it seems to happen later and even continually…

  13. lexacain says:

    It’s very hard to consider writing NA when most of the agents specifically ask for mc’s 18 and under. They use an over-age mc as a reason to reject. When I read NA, I consider it Adult, as I’m sure most agents do, too.
    I love your poll widgets!

    ~ Laura from YALitChat
    http://lexacain.blogspot.com/

  14. I love a good poll. I haven’t read a lot of New Adult yet, but they are sitting on my TBR pile and staring at me. It does sound like a growing market though.

  15. Yes! I write crossover novels, which are basically new adult. So glad this is getting more exposure.

  16. becca puglisi says:

    Hi, Natasha. This is so interesting because I’ve never heard of this term before. As a YA writer, that’s a little embarrassing ;). But I was just reading a post somewhere the other day about how people writing books for this age group do kind of flounder because their books don’t tend to fit into either the YA or adult category. So glad someone has filled the void :).

Leave a Reply

