My Life Would Be Easier If I Gave Up Writing


My life would be easier if I gave up writing, but it wouldn’t be as fulfilling. It’s tough juggling work and home and family and friends and pets and writing and pursuing publication. Books don’t write themselves, they don’t revise or edit themselves, and they can’t market themselves. It takes time and dedication. If you’re anything like me, you’d love abundant, uninterrupted time to write, but that means taking time away from loved ones. I have an awesome husband who whole heartedly supports my writing. Anytime I tell him I need extra time to work on my book, he offers to either take the kids out somewhere or to watch them while I go off on my own. Still, I sometimes feel guilty about the moments I’m missing with my family.

Here’s the thing: writer’s have nothing to feel guilty about when spending time on their craft. At first, we may not get paid much, or at all, but it’s still a job. If we approach writing as a profession, rather than a hobby, we understand the value we get out of time away is improvement of our craft. What greater return can we get for our dedication than tight prose, engaging dialogue, likable characters, intriguing plots, etc. Those are some of the things that will lead us where most of us want to be – published.

So, although I’d have way more time on my hands if I gave up writing for publication, I can’t give it up.  I enjoy networking with fellow writers online and spending time with my critique group every week. I love falling into ‘the zone’, reading it later, and knowing it’s good stuff. I’m addicted to discovering learning more about my characters, meeting new ones, and exploring new worlds.Finding time to work on writing is hard, but it’s worth it.

Do you have a hard time finding time to write? How do you make time? What inspires you to keep writing?

This entry was posted in General.

12 comments on “My Life Would Be Easier If I Gave Up Writing

  1. Great post. And so true. Writing has been my escape, my therapy. I don’t know what I would do without it. 🙂

  2. Reminds me of something I Pinned recently on Pinterest: “To write or not to write: Is that a trick question.”

  3. It’s always hard to find time to write – there just aren’t enough hours in the day for everything that needs to be done. And how many books, blog posts, articles, etc. have you read that say real writers have to write every day? Sometimes there just isn’t time. For me, I’ve have to give myself permission to feel okay if I miss a day – or even several. I love writing, but I also love my family, and then there are the have-tos – no one else is going to vacuum, do laundry, go to the grocery store etc. 🙂 So I write when i can, as much as I can, without feeling like I’m giving up too much family time or falling too far behind on other things that have to be done. It’s a juggling act, but it’s all good 🙂

  4. Not sure how you did this, Natasha, but you creeped into my head this morning!

    As I went through my blogroll, I thought, “Jeez – my writing is a dime a dozen! Everyone’s doing it – why am I?” I had just given myself a self-affirming talk (in the minivan as I was tuning out my chatterbox daughter) telling myself that I love writing and that I love my family and my writing is able to combine my two loves. And no one else is going to write about my family but me!

    Thanks for a very timely and introspective post, my friend!

    • Self affirmation is a great approach to staying positive and inspired. How wonderful that you are able to combine two passions. You’re able to write about things which people can relate to on a personal level and you do so with humor. That’s no small task.

  5. lbdiamond says:

    You’re not kidding! I’ve toyed with quitting lots of times, but can’t seem to commit, LOL! Guess I’ll keep writing, then. 😉

  6. I could never give it up – my brain would explode from the story ideas that I wasn’t letting out. 😉 Plus, I normally don’t have trouble finding time to write – even though I’m not taking public transit quite as often now that I have a car. (Too bad it’s not safe to type while driving.)

  7. I’ve been feeling this way lately. My writing has been taking up tons of time, but it makes me happy in a way that nothing else can. And, now that I’ve turned on the “juice” I don’t think I’ll ever be able to turn it off again. I will always need to write.

Leave a Reply

