Joy!


(view source)

I usually don’t write about personal stuff. This week I can’t help myself. Carolyn, my big sister, has always been wonderfully supportive. Over seven years ago, she drove three hours to my house to help my husband with our twins while I went on a weekend writer’s retreat. She listens to me go on and on about people who don’t exist and shows an active interest in my imaginary worlds. She never cringes when I ask her to read my work.

She’s the kindest, most giving person I know. I used to think the phrase “you make me want to be a better person” was kind of hokey. She helps me understand how something like that is possible.

(view source)

Now, she’s made me a new aunt! On Monday, my sister gave birth to a big, handsome, healthy baby boy. He’s her first child and I am overjoyed! I am so proud of Carolyn and look forward to greeting her on this journey into motherhood. I hope I can be half as supportive to her as she has been for me.

I hope all of my blog readers have someone in their lives who are a positive influence. If you do, feel free to give them a shout out in the comments below.

8 comments on “Joy!

  1. lbdiamond says:

    Awww, sweet! Congrats! 🙂

  2. Congratulations! 🙂

  3. tangynt says:

    Babies! He’s such a handsome man, too!

  4. dawnall says:

    So happy for Caroline and her family. Happy for the new aunt also.

  5. Marcia Kay says:

    She is definitely an inspiration to me as well! She is one of the kindest and most giving people I know and never, ever forgets a friend now matter how far she moves away from them. Congratulations to Carolyn, Mark and welcome Elijah.

  6. What a sweet post! Congrats!!! 🙂

  7. Aww, yay being an aunt! I’ve given up all hope of being an aunt until my best-friend-practically-sister has children, because at this point my two actual siblings show no interest in ever having children.

    Positive influences, eh? Well, I have many, my mother and grandmother being the most influential. I tell people that if they have a praying grandma, they don’t have a chance of ruining their lives, lol.

  8. Yay for Carolyn and her baby.

    I love my family, even if we’ve grown just a little less close over the last few years. And I’ve made some great friends among local writers.

Leave a Reply

