Why is hitting “SEND” so scary?


Writing a query is tough. Taking a 60,000+ word document and boiling it down to two to three paragraphs is a daunting task. I went through six editing rounds (though, fights feels like a more befitting word) with the query letter for my YA paranormal romance, EDGE OF TRUTH. Then, I took it to my critique group where it underwent another three rounds.

Meanwhile, I researched agents I learned about through WritersDigest.com and other sources.  Then, logged into QueryTracker.net, an awesome and FREE database of literary agents, and started making a list of those I’d like to query. After visiting websites to make sure I had the most up-to-date info on what they want, I decided it was time to start submitting.

I prepped that first email, pasted the query in the body along with the synopsis (don’t get me started on that) and the first ten pages. My mouse hovered over the SEND button…one click away…and I lifted my finger. I couldn’t bring myself to click SEND for fear of a typo somewhere. So I read through everything again, found nothing, and ran out of excuses. Now, I can say I have queries on the loose.

Why is hitting SEND so scary? Does your finger gain ten pounds before you click send? How do you muster up the courage to submit your query?

15 comments on “Why is hitting “SEND” so scary?

  1. MichaelEdits says:

    The same way you muster up the courage to write those 60,000 words in the first place.

  2. Julia King says:

    It’s like when I was a teenager and I wanted to call the hot boy I liked. I’d dial all the numbers but the last one. Hoovering over the last digit for a while, I’d finally just hang up. Querying is terrifying. Putting out that huge book represented only by three paragraphs. Ugh! Daunting. I noticed with the first maybe 30 queries I emailed I struggled with the I can’t push send problem. After that, it was a piece of cake. It just takes some time to get used to it.

    Keep on pushing send! You can do it and good luck!

  3. lbdiamond says:

    It’s scary for me because I’m expecting a reject instantly, LOL!

    Good luck!!!!!

  4. I think we all feel that way. We’ve worked so hard and we want it so bad that the thought someone won’t like it makes us hesitate. I’m sure they’ll love it. Keeping my fingers crossed for you.

  5. I went through the same thing this week. There’s such a finality in hitting “send”!

    Good luck! :)!

  6. Oh my gosh, I completely understand your terror at having to click the “Send” button! A few weeks ago I had to send out review copies of Guardian. So I did ANOTHER proofread, uploaded the attachment, put in all the reviewers’ email addresses and … (said a prayer!) … finally had to just click “Send”! It was pretty darn scary!

Leave a Reply

