Are you obsessed, too?


(Source)

The other day while driving down the highway, I spotted a book lying on the side of the road. The pages flapped in the wind, taunting me with the secrets they held. The front cover remained elusive no matter how hard I squinted, and the need to pull over and snatch it up almost overwhelmed me. What kind of person is tempted to pull over on the highway to rescue a book? An obsessed one. I have so so many books at my house waiting for me to spend a moment of time with them, yet the lure of that strange, hitchhiking book still called out to me.

I love reading. I love writing. I love that every time I read a book, especially in my genre, I’m honing my craft and becoming a stronger writer.

Are you obsessed, too?

13 comments on “Are you obsessed, too?

  1. lbdiamond says:

    Oh, yes, whenever I see books, I have to look at them, even if I’ve read them before or they’re not in a genre that I read.

  2. roguemutt says:

    No. I would never pick up anything from off the highway. Do you know where that’s been? Some hobo could have been using it for TP!

  3. I have been curious enough to kneel down and read the first few lines of something on the ground. It’s almost like finding treasure, or an eye into someone else’s life.

    • Time for another confession. I’ve snuck a peek at a dropped grocery list before. In my defense, at one point in time, I was into studying handwriting (which I think is becoming a dying art due to technology, but that’s another post) and wanted to know what the person’s writing would reveal about them.

      Glad it’s not just me.

  4. Marsha Lytle says:

    Don’t keep us in suspense. What was the book?

  5. Linda K says:

    Yes, I’m obsessed. I’d like to rescue my book from the roadside. Actually, I’m half way through an edit. But some days I can see myself breezing down the highway throwing the pages out the window.

  6. Susanna says:

    I am totally obsessed! I want to read pretty much every book I see – they all look so good. So many books, so little time… 🙂

  7. Totally obsessed. I would have pulled over too. 🙂

  8. RosieC says:

    Yes, yes, completely obsessed. I want to go get the book right now, a week later. Which highway was that? 🙂

Leave a Reply

