Where Do You Stand?


I had such a great time at the OWFI conference. It left me excited, encouraged, and a touch overwhelmed. With all this new knowledge, there are tons of revisions/edits in my future. Thanks to the workshops, feedback on my contest entries, and a suggestion from an agent, I have a clearer direction on how to improve my work.

Which led to the questions: Do I send thank you notes to the agent/editor to whom I pitch? How about the contest judges? What if I didn’t win, or even place?

My answer is simple: YES.

I plan to US mail thank you cards (real cards people can hold) to the agent and the editor I pitched my YA novel Edge of Truth to. Right after meeting with them, and after I calmed down from the high of them requesting material, WAHOO! , I scribbled down notes of things we discussed. Things which may help them remember me from the sea of people they met over the weekend. I also always send cards to the contest judges for the categories I entered regardless of the outcome, as well.

Sometimes the cards come back. No one has yet acknowledged receipt of them. But it makes me feel good, even if sending things via US mail is a dying practice.

Where do you stand? Do you send emails? Do you send thank you cards? Or do you just assume the cards will go straight into the trash?

5 comments on “Where Do You Stand?

  1. Dawn says:

    I’m with you, Tasha. I’ve yet to have anyone respond to my thank you’s but my parents raised me that it’s the right thing to do. As long as I feel good about it, I’ll keep doing it.

  2. Jeannie Hagy says:

    That’s a wonderful practice, Natasha. I have judged contests four or five times, and I’ve only had one person write to thank me. She had not been a winner, but she wrote to thank me for my feedback. She said she planned to rewrite with my suggestions in mind. That meant so much to me that I actually kept the note for several years! Years later she was in a position to ask me to be a judge for her local writing group’s contest, and I was happy to accept.

  3. Susanna says:

    I don’t think you can ever go wrong with a thank you note. Somebody took the time to be helpful to you and it’s right and courteous that you take the time to thank them. It might never be acknowledged, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t gratefully received and appreciated 🙂

  4. Jenna says:

    I think this is such a wise and kind thing to do. You never know who you’ll touch by sending a thank you. I haven’t really done anything like the OWFI contest before, but you’ve made me think about common courtesy. There was a workshop about this. I think the judges (and agents) will appreciate that time you’ve taken to thank them. I’m sure it’s not an easy job going through up to 72 entries in a category!

  5. amyshojai says:

    I’ve been a judge more times now than I can count, but only remember a few times I got thank yous–and those times stand out. They really made my day! One year I didn’t get thank yous but an in-person HUG from someone who hadn’t won the year before, but followed some suggestions and got the article published. I think I was more excited than she was! It means a lot–great practice to do. (Now I gotta go write MY thank yous. *s*)

Leave a Reply

