So Excited!


I’m back from the OWFI conference. I recommend this two-day conference to any writer looking to improve their craft. They had tons of workshops ranging from newbie to novice writers. The people are super friendly and I made so many new friends. Plus, OWFI hosted a contest with tons of categories and one entry fee. I entered five pieces.

I was so nervous during the Award Banquet on Saturday, I couldn’t finish my chocolate cake. My “Blood Lines” manuscript earned 1st Place in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror category, “When I Eat Blue” earned a 1st Honorable Mention for Picture Book, “Called To Hunt” received 2nd Honorable Mention for Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror, and “Wyatt’s Burden” earned 4th Honorable Mention for Short Story. Then, I finished the cake.

I’ll be posting notes on things I’ve learned in the workshops eventually.

[note: Somehow, my 4th HM for short story got left off the list during the actual Award Banquet, but I’ve been told it will be listed in the OWFI newsletter.]

For a complete list of winners, click here.

14 comments on “So Excited!

  1. Wow, Natasha! Congratulations. Your hard work paid off.

  2. Trisha says:

    Woooow, congratulations!! That is so awesome 😀

  3. Beverly says:

    Congratulations. When you can’t eat chocolate cake it is exciting. What a wonderful experience.

  4. Sari Webb says:

    That’s amazing! Congrats, you must be buzzing =D

  5. Congratulations! That’s awesome!

  6. amyshojai says:

    Congratulations (again!). Glad you got home safely–fun sharing a breakfast table with everyone. *s* See you next year!

  7. Susanna says:

    Congratulations! That’s terrific!!!

  8. Kerri Cuevas says:

    Fantastic! Nice job and CONGRATS!

  9. Congrats again on the wins and loved meeting you. Have a great year and I’ll see you at the next OWFI gathering. Come see me at http://www.carolshenold.com

  10. Vicki Tremper says:

    Wow, congratulations! That is so exciting. Glad you got so much out of the conference.

  11. Tina says:

    Congrats to you! I meant to say hello to you after hearing about your future plans during the “What do I do now?” session on Saturday. You sound like you have definite specific goals and you are on your way! Great motivation for all of us!

  12. lbdiamond says:

    CONGRATS!!!!!!

    Sounds like you had a great time. 🙂

  13. Nicole Mc says:

    So happy for you!!

Leave a Reply

