Facebook Sentences & Blog Paragraphs


I think in Facebook sentences and blog paragraphs. I recently read a post on Kelly Hashway’s Book where she lists tips she’s learned about blogging. I agree with every one of them, especially the one about keeping posts short and sweet. So, how does this effect me as writer?

I think it reinforces what every writer tries to do: hook the reader, write succinctly, and entertain.

Do you find yourself thinking in Facebook sentences and Blog paragraphs? Or Tweets? How has internet social media effected you as a writer?


17 comments on “Facebook Sentences & Blog Paragraphs

  1. Madeline says:

    As someone with tons of blogs to follow, (thanks to the crusade!) I’d have to agree that I like posts short and sweet. I’m a bit new to this whole writer’s social network think and I’m *gasp* not on Twitter. But I can say Blogger has taught me a lot about writing already. 😀

  2. dawnall says:

    I’ve always been a lean writer and an impatient reader. Still, the age of the blogosphere has made me more edgy. I expect to be engaged immediately by a blogger. If I’m not, I skim right off that page and on to the next one. I’m not happy about it but I have developed Adult ADHD when it comes to reading.

  3. The Net mentality’s been good for me, as I used to overwrite.
    I do tend to sigh and get impatient with extra long blog posts. Unless the post is on something I am absolutely mesmerized by, and very well written to boot.

  4. I don’t know if I think IN twitter statuses and blog paragraphs, but I know that I’m constantly thinking ABOUT them. 🙂
    ❤ Gina Blechman

  5. kellyhashway says:

    Thanks for linking to my blog, Natasha! I definitely think like I’m pitching a story. I completely agree with what you said. Get to the point and entertain.

  6. Katrina says:

    I agree. The shorter the better, ’cause I follow lots of blogs and I tend to read all the ones that are fairly short and engaging. 🙂

  7. lbdiamond says:

    Sometimes I think in terms of hash tags, lol! #imnotkidding #seeicantstop 😉

  8. Adina West says:

    I just knew somebody would make that hashtag comment! 🙂

    I think the whole brevity thing is most useful for non-fiction and journalistic writing. I haven’t found FB or blogging has had a direct affect on my writing style in novels – not yet anyway!

    But I agree that short posts can be good. We are all busy. And I try not to post too frequently either, otherwise I’d never have time to visit others and comment!

  9. Beverly says:

    Great question. Yes, I try not to waste words or space. Have to watch for sentence fragments though. The English teacher in me. 🙂

  10. @ Katrina – I’m with you. I’m doing the blog crusade thing. Lots of reading. Lots and lots of reading.

    @ lbdiamond – at the risk of sounding like a newbie, I’m still trying to figure out the hashtag thing. 🙂

    @ Adina – I’m gonna claim your reason as mine for not posting more often. 🙂

    @ Beverly – 🙂

  11. Crystal says:

    ALL THE TIME!!! In fact my hubby and I often talk in facebook sentences.

  12. LM Preston says:

    Gaga blogging, hashtaging and FB I speak the language all the time.

Leave a Reply

