That’s YAmore Blogfest Entry


I’m so excited to participate in the first annual “That’s YAmore Blogfest” hosted by Oasis for YA. The blogfest runs from today, February, 11 through February 14. Blogfest participants post “250 romantic, swoon-worthy words from your YA WIP” in honor of the most romantic day of the year. It’s not too late to sign up.

This is one of my favorite scenes from my YA paranormal, Edge of Truth, besides Rena and Nevan’s first kiss which takes up way more than the word count for this blogfest. Hope you enjoy!

The fire took up one side of the cave, leaving them with limited space to stretch out to sleep. Blaze ended up by the fire, Nevan near the wall and Rena in the middle. She and Blaze shared the rucksack, while Nevan rolled up the rope for a makeshift pillow.

Blaze fell asleep fast. Rena, on the other hand, couldn’t decide which way to face. She settled flat on her back and stared at the flickering light.

“Can’t sleep?” Nevan whispered.

“No.”

“You’re divided.”

“What?”

“Your face.” He lightly touched her hairline and traced a path over her forehead, between her eyebrows, across the bridge of her nose, paused slightly at her lips then continued to the tip of her chin. “Divided between shadow and light.”

“Oh.” Sweet Mother…. What was she supposed to say to that? What could she say? Especially with the line down the middle of her face tingling.

“Rena?”

“Yeah.” The firelight danced across his face. His two colored eyes drank it in.

“Remember the other day, back at that club in the Underground?”

The kiss. “How could I forget?” Shadows hid her blush.

“There’s something I need to tell you?” He sounded too serious.

A cold wave rolled over her. “Uh-huh?”

“I don’t know where to start?” He glanced at Blaze who snored softly. “This might not be the best time or place, but I really need to get this out.”

“What’s it about?”

“Us.” His voice almost below a whisper. He was quiet for a moment. A long, impossible moment.

Don’t forget to check out other swoon-worthy entries in the That’s YAmore Blogfest.

30 comments on “That’s YAmore Blogfest Entry

  1. tangynt says:

    Oooooooh!

    Neeevan.

    I’ll have to put up something with Holden and Connie from Coveted.

  2. LM Preston says:

    I want more!!!! You hooked me and I’m biting nails wanting to find out what happens next…

  3. Just the right kind of cliffhanger. Good job.

  4. lbdiamond says:

    Ooooh, what’s gonna happen next???? 😀

  5. Ooh, great description and I love the sweet yet nervous tension between them. It works. Thank you for participating in our blogfest! It’s been great fun.

  6. Jessie says:

    Not fair! I wanted to find out what he was going to say and you left me hanging… nice work. thanks for joining in the blogfest fun.

  7. Jus Accardo says:

    Like the others, I wanted to know what came next!! Excellent scene 😀

  8. Nicole Mc says:

    I CANT WAIT to get there!!! Awesome.

  9. Truth by firelight??? Hot!!!
    erica

  10. Beth says:

    I agree. It’s a good cliffhanger.
    bethfred.com

  11. Liz Czukas says:

    You are a tease! A terrible, terrible tease!

    Nice scene, though!

    – Liz

  12. Jessica Lei says:

    Haha that boy is a tease, isn’t he! Great job, thanks for sharing! 😀

  13. Beverly says:

    Oh, how sweet and tender and making the reader want more. Nice.

    • @ Beverly, It was sweet and tender. Intimate in a quiet way.

      @ Sophia, Rena is divided between her best friend and her hopefully-soon-to-be new boyfriend. They both want her complete attention. And what Nevan wants to say is worth waiting for. 🙂

  14. I’m sensing by her reaction to the ‘divided’ comment and their sleeping arrangement that this might be a love triangle? I liked Rena’s voice following her ‘Sweet Mother’ thought, I definitely felt like I was right there with her during this scene. I’m with everyone else, dying to know what Nevan’s going to say.
    – Sophia.

  15. LM Preston says:

    Thanks for sharing! Just the romance twist I needed for Valentines Day!

  16. holy wow nevan. Great tension. I want more;) Hi fellow crusader.

Leave a Reply

