Write Through Grief


Writing for publication is not for the faint of heart. This is an industry ripe with rejections from agents, editors, publishing houses, magazines, ezines, etc. Oh, there are the occasional ‘nice’ rejection letters, but the message is the same. Anyone who has honed their material and researched the perfect agent/publisher knows the amount of courage it takes to say out loud, “Here, I am. Judge me,”and whisper, “please be gentle.” They know the  hesitant anticipation of waiting for a response. And when it’s a negative one, it stings.

In the midst of grief, the walls writer’s put up to cope with constant rejection are paper-thin. As I struggle with this, those rejections are enough to make me doubt my ability as a writer.

How do you cope with being a writer when the joy of writing is missing? Without the reward of euphoria that sprouts from writing an awesome story, it’s just a lot of really hard work and rejection. How have I pushed past it (kinda)? I asked myself this question. Why do I write? A simple question which took days to answer, but I’m glad I didn’t give up on it.

I write to bring joy to others through written words.

It is possible to write without a muse and it aint pretty, but it’s better than a blank page. And those rejection letters, they’re just progress in the right direction. Each and every one shows you’re not giving up. You’re just searching for the agent for you and your work.

Why do you write? What are your thoughts on rejection letters?

12 comments on “Write Through Grief

  1. LM Preston says:

    I write as a way to take mental vacations. Stressful work and a life full of surprises make me enjoy being able to be someone else for awhile. Not to mention my kids are my #1 audience and wait to hear me read my work outloud. Lastly, I love a challenge. I get a kick out of turning the NO’s into my own Yes…anyway I can.

  2. kellyhashway says:

    I know this is cliche, but I think writers write because we have to. It’s part of who we are. Rejection is never easy, but if we fear rejection, we’ll never experience success. When I think about how many books have truly touched me, I want more than ever to write. If I could do that for someone else, it would mean the world to me.

  3. When I was showing my paintings at galleries, I was very good at letting “no”s slide off my back. It was clearly a stylistic mismatch, or they wanted someone more famous, or they were having financial problems themselves!!!
    I always found an art dealer, who wanted to show me. It was all about being tenacious. I always remember that when the writing world is rough. It helps me not take it personally. The publisher could have another project too much like yours, or have a stylistic difference, or have a very tight budget. There are a lot of editors out there. Find the right one for you, and let the rest slide right off.

  4. gk says:

    I used to let the rejections bother me. I used to get down in the dumps whenever I received one. But nowadays, rejections push me even harder to find that “right” agent/editor. I don’t get down in the dumps anymore. I’m past that stage. Now they’re simply my building blocks to becoming published with the RIGHT publisher. 🙂

  5. PK Hrezo says:

    Amen! It hurts. It sucks. But it shows we don’t give up. We have to see each rejection as an opportunity to become better. At leat we are putting ourselves out there. And WOW! Just think how thrilling it will be to finally find that agent who really gets you. I can’t wait to see who it ends up being!!

    It helps to know we are not alone. We are all enduring countless rejections on our path. We stay strong together. Bloggers Unite!

    • Very inspirational. The ‘I can’t wait to see who it ends up being’ really resonates with me. It changes ‘hesitant anticipation’ to ‘expectant anticipation’.

      I like it.

  6. Susan Quinn says:

    My dad just sent me some excerpts from a memoir of a writer. His first novel was published some time in the 60’s, but every word rung true today. He noted that when he first held his first novel in his hands that he was disappointed. He thought it would be some miraculously transforming experience. He quickly discovered (and never forgot) that the best part of being a writer was found in the writing itself.

    Something to anchor to, when riding the tumultuous waves of publishing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

