Writer +


Hands + Keyboard = Progress

I’m not a math person, but for some reason writing this post with a touch of math felt right.

Writer + Happy Muse = Productivity

There are times when inspiration hits. Characters pop up on the way to work or the grocery store. Plot lines complete with unexpected twists reveal themselves. Settings so vivid they feel real invade dreams. These are those times that keep writers up well past bedtime trying to get every word down as fast as possible. When pages fill with words by themselves and even though the first draft isn’t perfect, it’s a great foundation. But:

Writing + Grief  ≈  Impossible

Grief is a complex, draining emotion. Denial. Anger. Bargaining. Depression. Acceptance. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.

We all have certain daily routines: get out of bed, get ready for work, eat breakfast (most important meal of the day), read the paper, drive to work, drive home, cook dinner… There are many things I can do ‘on autopilot.’ Writing good fiction isn’t one of them. I’ve been struggling to write without a muse for a while which is why my writing goal is vital, even though it’s only 100 words/day. Those words either add to my WIP, provide notes on the plot line, or just serve as therapy.

Motivation is a HUGE part of writing. So, what can writers do when the motivation well runs dry, they’ve pushed as far as they can and a little further, but can’t hold on anymore?

Me – Writing = ????

I don’t know who I am without writing, and even though the reverse isn’t true, I can’t let that thought stop me. A year after my loss, I finally gave myself permission to put down the laptop and pick up books to enjoy reading for a while.

Eyes + Book = Right Direction

Because I read like a writer. I study what makes characters likable, how they interact with the setting, the flow of dialogue, pacing, description… My WIP remains at a low word count, but I’ve still grown as a writer.

Permission + Time To Heal = No Guilt

This is probably the best gift anyone can give themselves. Since each person moves through the stages of grief at their own pace and sometimes repeat stages, it’s important to give this gift generously.

9 comments on “Writer +

  1. Dawn Allen says:

    Great post! There are definite points in the journey where grief will stop us cold. It is during those times that we learn the most. We strengthen our reserve of emotions and our ability to tap into them when we sit down to write again. Hang in there!

  2. lbdiamond says:

    LOVELY post!!!! I really like how you’ve broken down the writing equation. Bravo!!! 😀

  3. kellyhashway says:

    Great post! I also read like a writer, which is why I don’t feel bad when I pick up a book and put my manuscript on hold. Sometimes it’s necessary–especially when I’m not in a great mood and don’t want that to affect my manuscript. Reading is research for the craft.

  4. Susan Quinn says:

    I love word math in general, but these are some powerful equations! Thank you for sharing them! I’m glad you gave yourself the gift of the last one. 🙂

  5. Nicole mc says:

    I love this post. I also like your 100 words a day goal. I need to give that a try. Small enough to be doable, but 100 a day adds up quick. Plus…I’m sure you can easily cruise right by 100! 🙂

  6. Nickie says:

    Thanks for linking me this piece. You’re right; sometimes you just have to set everything down and give your brain some time to process life and loss. There is nothing wrong with just wanting to read on ‘those days’. And I know it’s very belated, but I’m sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

