Book Review: Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi


Title: Ship Breaker 
Author: Paolo Bacigalupi
Genre:
Science fiction, post apocalyptic
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; 1 edition (May 1, 2010)
Reading level: Young Adult
ISBN-10: 0316056219 or ISBN-13: 978-0316056212

Summary
There some things Nailer can count on in a post apocalyptic American Gulf Coast region. If he doesn’t make quota, there are plenty of smaller kids eager to take his job. If he gets any bigger, he’ll lose his light crew job anyway. If he goes home, his father will probably beat him. His only hope to escape his bleak future is a Lucky Strike.

Then, the most unexpected thing happens…

Soon after a near death experience, Nailer discovers a shipwrecked clipper ship and thinks he’s discovered a Lucky Strike. What he doesn’t expect to find on the mangled ship is a trapped survivor. A beautiful, dark-haired, swank survivor. Nailer must decide which is more important: his newfound appreciation for life or reaching his dreams no matter what the costs.

Personal Reaction
Bacigalupi does a fantastic job creating a believable futuristic world in Ship Breaker. Both the main characters and secondary characters are well-rounded and likeable. The balance between narrative and dialogue flows seamlessly. The fast-paced plot keeps the reader engaged. One of my favorite aspects of Ship Breaker was the setting. Bacigalupi gives just enough description to give readers the basic premise of Nailer’s world, but relies mostly on characters interacting with the environment to convey the setting.

Recommended?
YES! I’d definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys YA, post apocalyptic, or science fiction. Even though the main character is a teenage boy, everyone can enjoy this thrilling adventure story.

Have you read Ship Breaker? What did you think?

10 comments on “Book Review: Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

  1. Evie says:

    I put this one on my christmas list! 🙂 Good review!

  2. lbdiamond says:

    Wow, sounds like an interesting story!

  3. Hi
    I have Ship Breaker and have started it. I also bought Windup Girl, Paolo’s adult dystopia. I think he is a brilliant writer, with a unique vision. I’ve heard him speak on a vlog, and he is quite passionate about the environment. In addition, I think the cover artists did excellent jobs on both of these books. I’d love to get my hans on a poster size cover of Windup Girl!

  4. Tabitha says:

    I just picked up this book from the library yesterday and I’m VERY excited about reading it. So I didn’t read your review yet, but when I’m done I’ll come back. 🙂

  5. dawnall says:

    Nice job on the review!

Leave a Reply

