Blog Chain – Out of the Writer’s Closet


Question: What’s your first memory of wanting to be a writer? When and how did you get the courage to come “out of the writer’s closet”?

On a Top Chef’s Masters Season One episode,  they asked the contestants, “When did you know you wanted to be a chef?”  Hubert Keller, Rick Bayless, and Michael Chiarello all had distinct childhood memories of cooking. Which led me to wonder, what was my first memory of wanting to be a writer?

I remember the wonderment I had while reading Island of the Blue Dolphin by Scott O’Dell. I can’t tell you the number of times I plagiarized some aspect of that story in my homemade books as a child. I remember thinking how much I wanted to create stories that would carry people to far away lands.

But of course in elementary school, if anyone asked what I wanted to be when I grew up I told them I wanted to be a teacher. In high school, a translator. In college, a linguist because writing wasn’t a real job. In my heart, I always said I WANT TO BE A WRITER!

I am a writer. I write paranormal young adult fiction. I transport people to other places and times. I inject their lives with the impossible. I give them suspension of disbelief.

 I am a writer and it’s nothing to be ashamed of or hide.

When did you know you wanted to be a writer? Did you tell right away? Or hide it?

See how math drove Dawn to write.

3 comments on “Blog Chain – Out of the Writer’s Closet

  1. I started writing (for serious) about two years ago. Since then, I’ve gotten 6 1/2 novels written. I never expected that it would go this far. But now that I’m in the game, it’s hard to stop. I hope to be published some day, but it’s a long road.

  2. Six novels in two years! How prolific of you. Are they all paranormal?

  3. dawnall says:

    And I’m sure glad you became a writer!

Leave a Reply

