Ever Wonder About Word Count?


I’m such a goal orientated person. I love to make lists and spreadsheets to track projects. It’s only natural I would want to track the word count in my WIP Blink. But what does the current word count mean for the overall manuscript? I have an outline and a rough idea of how many chapter the finished book will have, but what I really wanted to know was how the actual writing impacted my word count goal.  Which made wonder, what is my word count goal?

Word count expectations vary by target market and genre. What are they? I found my answers in Chuck Sambuchino’s post Word Count for Novels and Children’s Books: The Definitive Post on the Guide to Literary Agents (GLA) blog. I encourage you to visit his site for word count information for your genre. For YA Sambuchino says, “Perhaps more than any other, YA is the one category where word count is very flexible. For starters, 55,000 – 69,999 is a great range.” Even within YA, the word count varies by genre. Sambuchino gives examples of when a higher word count might be acceptable, and just how low might be pushing it.

Now I have my word count goal plugged into a spreadsheet, which may sound very boring, but the Type A side of my personality is thrilled to know Blink is 13% -15% complete. The writer in me, however, wants me to end this post and get back to work!

6 comments on “Ever Wonder About Word Count?

  1. lbdiamond says:

    Yeah, there are a lot of “rulers” out ther to measure progress…it can be a lot of fun to graph it out, right?

  2. I love graphs and charts and spreadsheets for things.

    Thank you so much for all your kind words on my blog.
    CD

  3. dawnall says:

    That’s my Tasha. Now, if you could just organize me.

Leave a Reply

